Mayday Micro Music Festival

Short & sweet review from our set at the Mayday Micro Music Festival, May 6th 2017 - as featured in BUMP Issue #2 June 2017

Short & sweet review from our set at the Mayday Micro Music Festival, May 6th 2017 - as featured in BUMP Issue #2 June 2017

"a.k.a. Belle's self described "unhinged Americana" set was an affectionate, empowered and hope-inspiring call to resist"  - BUMP magazine review of our performance at the Visual Arts Collective, a show which took place in May 2017

"a.k.a. Belle's self described "unhinged Americana" set was an affectionate, empowered and hope-inspiring call to resist" - BUMP magazine review of our performance at the Visual Arts Collective, a show which took place in May 2017

Alive After Five

A.k.a. Belle started the show off with lively, fun music they call “unhinged Americana,” incorporating elements of rock and jazz into their sound. Then Lindi Ortega, a country music artist from Nashville, Tennessee, began her set with a haunting song called “Murder of Crows.”  -- The Arbitor, Boise State University

Treefort 2013 Underdogs

Sunday’s Underdogs

 

Who:  a.k.a Belle

 

Where:  Pengilly’s Saloon (513 W. Main St., Boise, ID 83702)

When: Sunday, 10:00-10:40 p.m.

Ages for venue: 21+

Why: The band has a violin and a banjo, but it’s been said they rock out all the same.  They’ve even spent several years in England, and have songs titles like ‘The Devil Loves You’ (from their upcoming album).  -- The Arbitor, Boise State University

 

 

 

Xtreme Holiday Xtravaganza 12/20/12

And the hits just kept on rolling. AKA Belle wished those dancing in the aisles a rock 'n' roll Christmas. Bill Coffey did his best Jackson Browne impression. Possum Livin got a bit rowdy with a stomping hymn. And, in possibly the best moment of the evening, Stigers auctioned off a house show for $3,000. That's right, Stigers plays house shows.  -- Boise Weekly
a.k.a. Belle's Catherine singing "Fairytale of NY" with Curtis Stigers

a.k.a. Belle's Catherine singing "Fairytale of NY" with Curtis Stigers

Radio Boise Tuesday, Neurolux 11/20/12

a.k.a. Belle set a record with this performance (as far as I can recall): they didn't even play one song before they started bantering with each other. It all began with Catherine Merrick warning Sam Merrick not to cuss, since they were being broadcast live on Radio Boise. Sam Merrick proceeded to tell the audience a little story that led up to the show, bleeping out the curse words with a few guitar chords. It went on pretty much like that for the rest of the set. I hope that the folks out in radioland found this as amusing as I did. Too bad that they couldn't see Catherine Merrick's classic I'm-gonna-kill-this-f*cking-idiot glare (I see it a lot when I'm hanging out with married/dating friends). 

Oh, and I should probably mention that the music sounded great too. 

While their older songs sounded as gorgeous and rowdy as ever, their newer material makes me look forward to their second album, which they're apparently working on now.  Ben Schultz, Here Comes the Dumptruck

Neurolux, 9/12/12

a.k.a. Belle kicked off the show. If this group ever puts out a live album, they oughtta leave space for some on-stage banter--it's always a hoot hearing them crack jokes and talk smack about each other (the bandmates with the same last name do most of the latter). Not that they didn't cut it music-wise: Chris Galli's jazzy basswork made "Flyin' Song" glide, Sam Merrick's guitar injected some ragged glory into "At Least I'm Stupid" and their new drummer swung and swaggered throughout. Meanwhile, Catherine Merrick and Kayleigh Jack sounded as warm, thoughtful and lovely as ever, and special guest Thomas Paul pitched in with some tasteful banjo and mandolin. -- Ben Schultz, Here Comes the Dumptruck

Boise Rock School, 8/16/12

Sam and Catherine Merrick from a.k.a. Belle provided a fine and mellow ending to the show. Their cover of Jody Reynolds/The Gun Club's "Fire of Love" helped justify some of those John-and-Exene comparisons, and the warmth, playfulness and thoughtfulness of the rest of their set made me think, "Yeah, these are the kind of parents that kids oughtta have." Highlights included Sam Merrick's running gag on touring with the Sporx, Catherine Merrick's reminiscence of meeting Pete Seeger as a little girl and (cuz I can be a softie like that) Barrett Coyle helping them sing the chorus to "Painted, Faded and Tainted." -- Ben Schultz, Here Comes the Dumptruck

The Red Room 4/05/12

"The Hand, a.k.a. Belle, Holograms and Meth House Party Band @ the Red Room (5/1/12) A $1 cover charge, 2 for 1 drink specials, three Idaho bands that I hadn't seen before and one of my favorite local bands? How could I not go see this? a.k.a. Belle: The band was clearly in a good mood as they sipped whiskey and traded banter between flawlessly performed songs. Their casually confident set went a long way toward confirming two suspicions that I've held for a while: 1) that this is one of the best bands in town and 2) that Catherine Merrick is the greatest singer in town." -- Ben Schultz, Here Comes the Dumptruck